First person: Why I decided to take pole dancing classes

 

Erin Erickson is a level 4 at Flirtease
Erin Erickson is a level 4 at Flirtease

Few people just decide to take pole dancing classes. Some do it for an emotional or physical release, some do it to get over a broken heart, some do it for the sake of physical fitness. 

A lot of people do it because they want to feel good about themselves. 

I was one of those people. 

It was Fall 2007. I’d just had a miscarriage and I was feeling extremely low personally and physically.  I needed a serious pick-me-up. 

Once the doctor cleared me for workouts, I was on the look-out for something that would stir up the excitement in me again. 

I’ve always loved dancing as a workout so I was hoping I could find something fun and local. 

My prayers were answered one morning on my way into work. I’d heard Melissa from The Mix talking about the pole dancing classes she was taking. I was so intrigued that I googled Pole Dancing, Naperville (the closest big town near me). I found an article in the Daily Herald that mentioned Tease Workout in Naperville. 

“You’ve got to be kidding me. There’s a pole dancing studio in Naperville? AWESOME!!!!” 

I called Kristin immediately after and signed up for a Teaser class. 

That Teaser class was in late September. I remember bragging about it to my friends at dinner the night before. “I’m taking a pole dancing class tomorrow!!! Isn’t that a hoot?” 

I’d heard a few weeks later that the friends of the friend I was out with thought I was so cool for having tried it. 

The first class felt good. I was little nervous that my size 18 behind wouldn’t be able to stay on the pole, but I did really well. And I loved it…..a lot. 

I called my husband, who was on a Vegas Boys’ weekend and told him I was signing up for pole dance classes right away and that I wanted a pole in the basement. He was the life of the weekend. 

I started out at Tease in October 2007 and made my way up to level 2 before I took time off to try to have another baby. 

When the fertility medicines I was on didn’t work, I needed that pick-me-up again and right away, I went back to pole dancing. 

I re-took Level 2 and have since moved up to Level 4 which I’ll start in January. The second go-round also helped me lose 25 pounds and several dress sizes which has made the tricks even more fun!

I couldn’t have made it through the past year without my pole dance classes. Aside from the mental and physical strength I’ve gained, I’ve also started amazing friendships with my classmates and with Kristin. My Flirtease Sisters have become an extended family that I almost couldn’t live without.

Leave a Reply

